Skip to Main Content

Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Research

Introduction to the EBP process including resources and instruction.

Source and Publication Types

Grey Literature may exist in any number of formats:

  • reports
  • preprints
  • conference abstracts and proceedings
  • white papers
  • theses, bibliographies
  • pamphlets
  • official documents
  • newsletters
  • trial registrations
  • patents
  • informal communication (that may include interviews, blog postings, podcasts, personal communication such as email)
  • website information
  • web repositories
  • and more!

Pre-Prints

Handsearching involves the page-by-page examination of relevant journal issues, conference proceedings and other publications for relevant studies. In addition, the checking of reference lists of journal articles and other documents retrieved from a search. Moreover, qualitative research can be challenging to find as these methodologies are not always well-indexed in bibliographic databases. See strategies below. 

Why is handsearching important?

  1. Locates relevant items poorly indexed or not indexed at all. Some databases do not comprehensively index all content in journal issues, or may not index at all supplements, special issues, or conference abstracts
  2. Allows researchers to scan content quickly for relevant studies from high-impact journals
  3. Ensures that relevant studies are not overlooked.

Search Strategy 1: Use Subject Headings 

Databases use controlled keywords (known as thesaurus or subject terms) to categorize each record stored. PubMed, for example, uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), a highly structured index of terminology. The subject headings vary for each database according to their indexing system.  The term "qualitative research" is indexed in PubMed as "Qualitative Research" or "Nursing Methodology Research", while in CINAHL the subject heading "Qualitative Studies" is complemented by more detailed terms, including "Phenomenological Research" and "Grounded Theory".

Strategy 2: Use Text Words

This strategy uses text or keywords that might specifically identify qualitative research and searches the titles, abstracts and keywords of records held in the databases. Some Text Words include: qualitative, ethnograph*, phenomenol*, ethnonurs*, grounded theor*, purposive sample, hermeneutic*, heuristic*, semiotics, lived experience*, narrative*, life experiences, cluster sample, action research, observational method, content analysis, thematic analysis, constant comparative method, field stud*, theoretical sample, discourse analysis, focus group*, ethnological research, ethnomethodolog*, interview*.

Strategy 3: Use Qualitative Research Filters

Qualitative Research Filters are pre-formulated search strategies that have been constructed by librarians to help you retrieve articles in databases that deal with qualitative research. You can use the filter and then combine the results with your subject.

Example: Wimmer, Brenda, DNP, RN & CHPN, CNL. (2023). Urinary tract infections in long-term care: Improving outcomes through evidence-based practice. Nursing, 53, 30-35. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.NURSE.0000977568.34589.9f 

Scholarly journals are also called academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed journals. These are journals that submit articles to several other scholars, experts, or academics (peers) in the field for review and comment. These reviewers must agree that the article represents properly conducted original research or writing before it can be published.

What to look for:

  • abstract (descriptive summary)
  • footnotes or bibliographies
  • institutions author(s) are from, ex. universities, research institutions, think tanks 
  • main purpose is to report on original research or experimentation

Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) Articles: Limiter

Primary Sources (Empirical Data) are written by the person(s) who developed the theory or conducted the research. An appropriate literature review mainly reflects the use of primary sources. Ex: Clinical trials, Randomized Controlled Trials (RCT), Cohort Study, Multicenter Studies. See resource list below.

Secondary Sources (Background Information) are usually a brief description of a study, written by person(s) other than the original researcher. Often, a secondary source represents a response to, or a summary and critique of, the original researchers' work. Ex: Reviews, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Reviews.

Source: Primary vs. Secondary Sources | Difference & Examples, Scribbr, 2022.

Keeler, Courtney PhD; Curtis, Alexa Colgrove PhD, MPH, FNP, PMHNP. Secondary Data in Nursing Research. AJN, American Journal of Nursing: April 2022 - Volume 122 - Issue 4 - p 58-61.

Quantitative Studies - "Numbers". CINAHL, Nursing & Allied Health Premium, Ovid, PubMed@SMU.

  • Reduces data to numerical findings that are often expressed in charts and graphs
  • Groups features together and counts them
  • Deductive logic
  • Often tools - surveys, questionnaires, etc. - are used to compile data
  • Researcher is removed from the subject of investigation to remain neutral/objective

Qualitative Studies - "Words". CINAHL, Health Services Research, Ovid

  • Descriptive
  • Inductive logic
  • Often involve interviews or observation to compile data
  • Researcher is more often immersed in the subject of investigation, and more likely to be subjective