SMU LibGuides: Infectious Diseases, Mental & Community Health: Databases & Online Resources

Databases & Online Resources

Consumer Health Complete
Full-text consumer health information from books, journal articles, news and videos.
Healthy People 2030
Evidence based resources including social determinants of health, health disparities, and leading health indicators.
NatMed Pro
Professional monographs on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies. Databases include: food, herbs, supplements, sports medicine, pregnancy & lactation, health & wellness, and comparative effectiveness. Patient education handouts (English, Spanish, French).
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest)
Healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, complementary medicine, and more. Defaults to peer-reviewed articles. Includes additional databases. Limiters include interviews, evidence-based healthcare, dissertations and theses, and literature reviews.
Includes other databases: Coronavirus Research Database, Dissertations & Theses, and publicly available content.
PsycINFO
Psychology and psychiatry literature. Limiters include qualitative and quantitative studies, dissertations, peer-reviewed journal articles.
PubMed@SMU
The PubMed database contains more than 36 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. This customized PubMed portal links to journals available to SMU users. Limits include randomized controlled trial studies, meta-analysis, systematic reviews, qualitative research/broad, clinical trials, review articles, and more.
TRIP Pro
Find systematic reviews, guidelines, clinical trials, primary research, key primary research. Bias is identified in studies, and guidelines are flagged as narrative or evidence based. Includes limiters to clinical areas (cardiology, primary care, neurology, family practice, women's health, geriatrics, pediatrics, infectious disease, oncology...). A clinical search engine designed to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support clinical practice. Measures the risk of bias in randomized controlled, clinical trial studies, and if guidelines are evidence-based. Systematic reviews are flagged for being "appears promising" or "bad".
UpToDate
Narrative, topic reviews authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. You will need to create an account to gain access on a mobile device.

There are two ways to register:

1. Register from a desktop computer on the SMU campus,
2. Use remote access via MySMU. Click on MySMU and login with your SMU credentials. Go to Library and Research, find the UpToDate app.

When registering for an UpToDate account from off campus, go to MySMU. Look for the Student Lab W10 app. Once you are logged into the Student Lab W10 app, locate the SMU Library, select Databases, select UpToDate.

Online Resources

LitCovid
LitCovid is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 346,166 relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics (e.g. transmission) and geographic locations.
MedlinePlus [Infectious Diseases]
Topic and subject-specific information and resources on infectious diseases and conditions.
Merck Manual [Professional - Infectious Diseases]
Comprehensive listing of infectious diseases with updated information on each topic.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism
Resources for clinicians, physicians, social workers, health care professionals, and members of community coalitions.

Infectious Diseases, Mental & Community Health

Public Health Resources

Stop Overdose

Sugar Science [UCSF]

Databases & Online Resources