Skip to Main Content

Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Research

Introduction to the EBP process including resources and instruction.

Boolean Operator Searching

Database Aggregators and Search Tools

Cochrane Library

  • Clinical Answers
  • Clinical Reviews (PICOs)
  • Clinical Trials
  • Systematic Reviews

EBSCOhost Databases

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • EBSCO eBooks
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO
  • Rehabilitation Reference Center

ERIC (ED.gov)

  • Peer-Reviewed and Full Text
  • Subject focus is on Education
  • Includes limiters: Occupations, Assessments and Surveys, Publication Types, Tests and Questionnaires

Health Services Research PubMed Queries

  • Specific health services research study categories.
  • Qualitative, Outcomes, Quality Improvement

NatMed Pro

  • Professional Monographs
  • Patient Education Handouts
  • Substances, Food
  • Integrative therapies
  • Sports Medicine
  • Comparative effectiveness

Open Evidence

  • New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) and related NEJM publications
  • AI content trained on peer-reviewed medical literature
  • Available free only to NP or PA students with an NPI
  • HIPAA and PHI compliant

Ovid Databases

  • Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
  • Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)
  • MEDLINE
  • Ovid eBooks

ProQuest Databases

  • Coronavirus Research
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • eBook Central
  • Nursing & Allied Health
  • Publicly Available Content

PubMed Central (PMC)

  • Free full text, scholarly journal articles.
  • Pre-prints and author manuscripts (not peer-reviewed)

PubMed@SMU

  • Books
  • MeSH Database
  • Meta-Analysis
  • Randomized Controlled Trials
  • Systematic Reviews

PubMed@SMU - Clinical Queries

  • Clinical Prediction Guides
  • Clinical Studies
  • COVID - 19
  • Filters: Diagnosis, Etiology, Prognosis, Therapy

Trip Database Pro

  • Clinical Guidelines
  • Controlled Trials
  • Evidence Based Synopsis
  • eTextbooks
  • Key Primary Research
  • Primary Research
  • Systematic Reviews

U.S. Preventive Task Force

  • Graded evidence
  • Clinical practice recommendations
  • Evidence based prevention guidance

Search Engines

PubMed: Get the Full Text