| Begin a new page. Center the word References (in bold font) at the top of your reference list page. Do not italicize or put References in quotation marks. Double-space reference entries. |
References
Adler, B. (2019). Aggressively address the climate crisis: Existing laws give the executive branch the
power to transform the energy sector. The American Prospect, 30(4), 11+.
| Indention: The first line of each citation is flush with the left margin. Indent the second and subsequent lines of citations .5 inches to create a hanging indent. |
References
​Attariwala, J. (2019, July 25). Simulation and training evolution for pilots.
https://www.airmedandrescue.com/latest/long-read/simulation-and-training-evolution-pilots
Rodgers, S. (Host). (2020, January 3). Why Malcolm Gladwell believes humans are terrible at detecting
lies—and why we all need to get better at it [Audio podcast episode]. In The next chapter.
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. https://www.cbc.ca/radio/thenextchapter/full-episode-jan-4-
2020-1.5410673/why-malcolm-gladwell-believes-humans-are-terrible-at-detecting-lies-and-why-
we-all-need-to-get-better-at-it-1.5410826
GUIDELINES ON URL BREAKING:
While the APA guidelines indicate that it is permissible to break a URL if it must be divided between two lines to avoid excess empty space in the reference entry, we recommend that you keep the link intact whenever you can (as in the first example above). For the purposes of 100-200 level coursework, ensuring that the link is accurate and accessible is the most important consideration. Consult with your instructor to verify instructor's preference.
| Order: Citations are listed alphabetically by author's last name, followed by the author's first and middle initial(s), if given. Sources without authors are inserted alphabetically by title within the list. When citing two or more works by the same author, use the author's name for all entries and list the entries by the year (earliest comes first). |
References
Another one bites the dust. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Another_One_Bites_the_Dust
Baldwin, J. (1993). My dungeon shook: Letter to my nephew in the one hundredth anniversary of
the emancipation. In The fire next time, pp. 1-10. Vintage Books.
Gladwell, M. (2008). Outliers: The story of success. Little, Brown and Co.
Gladwell, M. (2015, October 19). Thresholds of violence: How school shootings catch on. The New
Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2015/10/19/thresholds-of-violence
Noah, T. (2018, January). The thing about millennials. Time, 191(1), 23.
| Spacing: Insert one space after commas, colons, semicolons, and periods (including periods between the initials of a name). |
Lindley, J. K. (2018). Tapping into gratitude. Health, 32(9), 80-83.
| One Author: List author's last name, followed by author's first and middle initial(s), if given. |
Finck, L. (2019). Excuse me: Cartoons, complaints, and notes to self. Random House.
| Two Authors: When a source has two authors, list by each author's last name, followed by each author's first and middle initial(s), if given. Commas separate author names. Use the ampersand (&) instead of "and" to separate each author. When you're creating a citation for a multi-author source, don't be tempted to reorganize them alphabetically. It's important to list authors in the same order that you find them. |
Weindl, D., & Lueger-Schuster, B. (2018). Coming to terms with oneself: A mixed methods approach to
perceived self-esteem of adult survivors of childhood maltreatment in foster care settings. BMC
Psychology, 6(1). https://doi.org/10.1186/s40359-018-0259-7
| Three to 20 Authors: For a work with up to 20 authors, include all of the names in the reference. List by each author's last name, followed by each author's first and middle initial(s), if given. Commas separate author names. The final author's name is preceded by an ampersand (&). When you're creating a citation for a multi-author source, don't be tempted to reorganize them alphabetically. It's important to list authors in the same order that you find them. |
Toscos, T., Coupe, A., Flanagan, M., Drouin, M., Carpenter, M., Reining, L., Roebuck, M., & Mirro, M. J.
(2019). Teens using screens for help: Impact of suicidal ideation, anxiety, and depression levels on
youth preferences for telemental health resources. JMIR Mental Health, 6(6), e13230.
| When a source has no author, begin with the title of the work, followed by the date of publication. The order of the remaining items in the citation stay the same. |
More treatment options needed for opioid addiction. (2019, May 13). Arizona Republic, p. A1.
| Sometimes the main contributor is not an author, but another contributor type, such as an editor or group of editors. Place the editor(s)' names in the author position, and enclose the abbreviation Ed. or Eds. in parentheses after the last editor's name. |
Tallett, F., & Trim, D. J. B. (Eds.). (2010). European warfare, 1350-1750. Cambridge University Press.
|
When a work is published by an organization that is also its author, treat the publishing organization the same way you would treat the author's name, and format the rest of the citation as normal. |
National Endowment for the Arts. (2017). The arts in neighborhood choice.
https://www.arts.gov/sites/default/files/Arts_in_Neighborhood_Choice_Report.pdf
|
The date follows the author's name, or the title of the work if there is no author. Use exact date when citing magazines, newspapers, and newsletters. Do not abbreviate month. Example: (2020, January 21) NOT (2020, Jan. 21). |
Greenberg, A. (2020, January 1). To be an animal. Wired, 28(1), 82.
Wong, K. (2017, December 28). Why self-compassion beats self-confidence. New York Times.
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/28/smarter-living/why-self-compassion-beats-self-
confidence.html?partner=bloomberg
| Use only the year when citing journal articles. |
Bilcan, F. R., Ghibanu, L. A., Bratu, I. L., & Bilcan, G. A. (2019). Risk and uncertainty in information
society. Academic Journal of Economic Studies, 5(4), 126+.
| If a source contains no date of publication, substitute (n.d.) which stands for "no date." |
Psychology Today. (n.d.). Co-occurring disorders. https://psychologytoday.com/us/conditions/co-
| In titles of works, capitalize only: |
Do not capitalize the second word of a compound (e.g., Hard-boiled).
Bainbridge, C. (Producer and Director), & Diamond, N. (Director). (2010). Reel injun: On the trail of the
Hollywood Indian [Film]. Kino Lorber. https://riosalado.kanopy.com/video/reel-injun-native-
Lawson, J. (2015). Furiously happy: A funny book about horrible things. Flatiron Books.
Murakami, H. (1993). Hard-boiled wonderland and the end of the world (A. Birnbaum, Trans.). Vintage
Books.
Gallardo, C. & Smith, S. V. (2019, July 29). America’s Tijuana tech boom. NPR.
https://www.npr.org/2019/07/26/745737714/americas-tijuana-tech-boom
| The titles of books, magazines, journals, newspapers, films, and videos are italicized. Journal volume numbers are also italicized, but issue numbers are not. |
Book Title:
Doerr, A. (2014). All the light we cannot see. Scribner.
Magazine Title:
Tufekci, Z., & Blake, K. (2019, March). Don’t trust, verify. Wired, 27(3), 18.
Journal Title:
Frith, E., & Loprinzi, P. D. (2018). Facebook and subjective well-being among college students: A
systematic review. American Journal of Health Studies, 33(1), 1-10.
Newspaper Title:
Guarino, B. (2019, July 2). A class teaches a new skill: How to spot misinformation. The Washington Post,
p. E4.
Film Title:
Lambe, V. (Director). (2018). Detainment [Film]. Network Ireland Television.
Video Title:
[Diva Dee]. (2019, May 28). I went to the worst reviewed makeup artist in my city! [Video]. YouTube.
| Use p. or pp. to signify page numbers when citing print newspaper articles or newspaper articles obtained through an academic research database. |
Fifield, A., Sun, L. H., & Bernstein, L. (2020, January 22). China tries to contain virus as first U.S. case
confirmed. The Washington Post, p. A13.
| Page number abbreviations are also used to designate pages for articles in encyclopedias, as well as chapters in edited books and collections. |
Baldwin, J. (1993). My dungeon shook: Letter to my nephew in the one hundredth anniversary of the
emancipation. In The fire next time, pp. 1-10. Vintage Books.
| Page number abbreviations are NOT used when citing magazine and journal articles, though the page numbers themselves are listed. |
Manderson, D. (2005). Possessed: Drug policy, witchcraft, and belief. Cultural Studies, 19(1), 35-62.
https://doi.org/10.1080/09502380500040522
| Cite the edition of a book only if it is not the 1st edition. Edition is placed between the title and the publisher. |
Behrman, A. (2018). Speech and voice science (3rd ed.). Plural Publishing.
| Include the name of the publisher for books, edited book chapters, reports, computer software and mobile apps, and data sets. Do NOT include the publisher location in the reference. |
Lewis, S. (2014). It can’t happen here. Penguin Group.
| A unique DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is assigned to most scholarly journal articles (as well as some magazine articles and books/edited book chapters) and provides the most stable link to the source for retrieval purposes. Always use a DOI if available. Present DOIs as hyperlinks. |
Dasgupta, N., Beletsky, L., & Ciccarone, D. (2018). Opioid crisis: No easy fix to its social and economic
determinants. American Journal of Public Health, 108(2), 182-186.
https://doi.org/10.2105%2FAJPH.2017.304187
Schaefer, N. K., & Shapiro, B. (2019, September 6). New middle chapter in the story of human
evolution. Science, 365(6457), 981–982. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aay3550
Rabinowitz, F. E. (2019). Deepening group psychotherapy with men: Stories and insights for the journey.
American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000132-000
Aron, L., Botella, M., & Lubart, T. (2019). Culinary arts: Talent and their development. In R. F. Subotnik,
P. Olszewski-Kubilius, & F. C. Worrell (Eds.), The psychology of high performance: Developing
human potential into domain-specific talent (pp. 345–359). American Psychological
Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000120-016
Note: Do not include any punctuation after the DOI.
| Older articles often contain DOIs that are simply a series of numbers (DOI: 10.13189/ujer.2013.010403). In such cases, standardize the DOI into the current preferred hyperlinked format by adding https://doi.org/ to the front of the DOI (as illustrated below). While there is a chance that the older DOI has not yet been activated, this is still the correct format. |
Reference List Example
Notar, C. E., & Padget, S. (2013). Adults role in bullying. Universal Journal of Educational Research (1)4,
294-297. https://doi.org/10.13189/ujer.2013.010403
|
URLs are used when a DOI is not available or found. For articles located on the open Web, use the exact URL as provided in your browser's address bar. Links should be live if the work is to be published or read online. NOTE: If You are using an article from a library database, do not include the database name or database URL. In this case, treat the reference like a print article because database URLs are not stable. The same content can usually be found in print or via the publisher's website using the basic citation information. |
National Endowment for the Arts. (2017). The arts in neighborhood choice.
https://www.arts.gov/sites/default/files/Arts_in_Neighborhood_Choice_Report.pdf
Psychology Today. (n.d.). Co-occurring disorders. https://psychologytoday.com/us/conditions/co-
Wong, K. (2017, December 28). Why self-compassion beats self-confidence. New York
Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/28/smarter-living/why-self-compassion-beats-self-
confidence.html?partner=bloomberg
Note: Do not include any punctuation after the URL.
GUIDELINES ON URL BREAKING:
While the APA guidelines indicate that it is permissible to break a URL if it must be divided between two lines to avoid excess empty space in the reference entry, we recommend that you keep the link intact whenever you can (as in the first example above). For the purposes of 100-200 level coursework, ensuring that the link is accurate and accessible is the most important consideration. Consult with your instructor to verify instructor's preference.
Shortened DOIs and URLs
When a DOI or URL is long or complex, you may use shortDOIs or shortened URLs if desired. Use the shortDOI service provided by the International DOI Foundation (http://shortdoi.org/) to create shortDOIs. A work can have only one DOI and only one shortDOI; the shortDOI service will either produce a new shortDOI for a work that has never had one or retrieve an existing shortDOI.
Some websites provide their own branded shortened URLs, and independent URL shortening services are available as well. Any shortened URL is acceptable in a reference as long as you check the link to ensure that it takes you to the correct location (p.300, 7th ed.).