SMU LibGuides: BSN Resources: Find Articles, Books & Videos

Using the SMU Library

Try the Advanced Search (limit results by Peer Reviewed articles, PICO Search and more!)

Optimized for Chrome or Firefox

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health literature; defaults to peer-reviewed articles. Limiters include qualitative and quantitative research, evidence-based practice, randomized controlled trial studies, and more.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences. Limiters include qualitative, randomized controlled trial studies, clinical queries, systematic reviews, interviews, comparative studies, and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, complementary medicine, and more. Defaults to peer-reviewed articles. Includes additional databases. Limiters include interviews, evidence-based healthcare, dissertations and theses, and literature reviews.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology and psychiatry literature. Limiters include qualitative and quantitative studies, dissertations, peer-reviewed journal articles.
PubMed@SMU This link opens in a new window
The PubMed database contains more than 36 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. This customized PubMed portal links to journals available to SMU users. Limits include randomized controlled trial studies, meta-analysis, systematic reviews, observational studies, clinical trials, review articles, and more.

Lexidrug [UpToDate] This link opens in a new window
Full-text drug information. To get the mobile access code, go to your MySMU portal and click on the Lexicomp Mobile App.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
Professional monographs on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies. Databases include: food, herbs, supplements, sports medicine, pregnancy & lactation, health & wellness, and comparative effectiveness. Patient education handouts (English, Spanish, French).

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A variety of eBooks by subject or topic. Download or print chapters. Includes infographics, videos, podcasts, and board review materials. Patient Education handouts can be customized with an Access Medicine account.
Kaiser Family Foundation This link opens in a new window
National health policy information.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Full-text consumer health information and multimedia resources. Easy-to-read and multiple languages.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Narrative, topic reviews authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. You will need to create an account to gain access on a mobile device.

There are two ways to register:

1. Register from a desktop computer on the SMU campus,
2. Use remote access via MySMU. Click on MySMU and login with your SMU credentials. Go to Library and Research, find the UpToDate app.

When registering for an UpToDate account from off campus, go to MySMU. Look for the Student Lab W10 app. Once you are logged into the Student Lab W10 app, locate the SMU Library, select Databases, select UpToDate.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Features head-to-toe and systems physical exam videos completely reshot with an emphasis on clinical accuracy and patient care.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Includes child health, medicine, mental health, nursing, sports and physiotherapy. Social Science includes gender studies, LGBT, psychology, and race and class.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A variety of eBooks by subject or topic. Download or print chapters. Includes infographics, videos, podcasts, and board review materials. Patient Education handouts can be customized with an Access Medicine account.
American Heart Association eBooks This link opens in a new window
Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support Provider Manual, Basic Life Support Provider Manual, Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS).
ANA Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Titles include Scope and Standards 4th ed, Pain Management, Code of Ethics, and Nursing's Social Policy Statement.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Davis Drug Guide, EBP and other handy eBooks available.