Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New PubMed: Find Full-Text Articles

This guide shows how to use the new version of PubMed that NLM rolled out in May 2020

PubMed Options to Obtain Full-Text Articles

  • Free full text Filter: Use the filter sidebar and click the Free full text available link to narrow your results to resources that are available for free on the web.
  • PubMed Central: PMC is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature by NIH. Click on “PMC Free Full text” icon to link to the article.
  • Free from the publisher: Click the publisher free full text icon access to free article.

The icons to link to full-text are displayed below. To view a quick tour by NLM, click on Get the Full Text for an Article

pubmed search results showing full text article links

Access PubMed via Library

The best way for SMU affiliates to search PubMed is through PubMed@SMU

You will be able to link to the full text of freely available articles, also to the articles in electronic journals subscribed by the library. Just click on FIND IT @ SMU icon on the abstract page of the article of your interest. If we do not have the full text article, you will have an option to order the article via Interlibrary Loan.

pubmed search results showing find it at smu icon