Skip to main content

Qualitatitve Research Resources: Books & Journals @ SMU Library

Qualitative research resources available at the Samuel Merritt University Library and via the Internet.

What is Qualitative Research?

"Qualitative research is a situated activity that locates the observer in the world. It consists of a set of interpretive, material practices that make the world visible. These practices transform the world. They turn the world into a series of representations, including field notes, interviews, conversations, photographs, recordings, and memos to the self. At this level, qualitative research involves an interpretive, naturalistic approach to the world. This means that qualitative researchers study things in their natural settings, attempting to make sense of, or to interpret, phenomena in terms of the meanings people bring to them."

Denzin, NK & Lincoln, YS. (2000) "Introduction: The Discipline and Practice of Qualitative Research" In Denzin, NK & Lincoln YS (eds.) Handbook of Qualitative Research, p. 3. Thousand Oaks: Sage.

 

Qualitative Research Image

Books @ SMU Library

  • Advancing nursing science: qualitative and quantitative approaches. WY 20.5 C734n v.17 1984 ARCHIVES
  • Analyzing qualitative data. H 62 G53 2007
  • Analyzing social settings: a guide to qualitative observation and analysis. HM 48 L63 1995
  • Basics of qualitative research: techniques and procedures for developing grounded theory. HA 29 S823 2008
  • Completing a qualitative project: details and dialogue. WY 20.5 C737 1997
  • Completing your qualitative dissertation: a roadmap from beginning to end. H 62 B58555 2008
  • Conceptualizing and proposing qualitative research. LB 2326.3 S38 2006
  • Designing qualitative research. H 62 M367d 1995
  • Developing research in nursing and health: quantitative and qualitative methods. WY 49 G946 1998
  • Doing qualitative research. WY 20.5 C12 1999
  • Doing qualitative research: a comprehensive guide. H 62 S472 2008
  • The ethnographic interview. GN 346.3 S66 1979
  • Ethnography in nursing research. WY 20.5 R784e 2000
  • From practice to grounded theory: qualitative research in nursing. WY 20.5 F931 1986 ARCHIVES
  • Handbook of qualitative research. H 62 H236 2000
  • Hermeneutic phenomenological research. WY 20.5 C678h 2000
  • Managing quality in qualitative research. H 62 F55 2007
  • The methodology of discourse analysis. WY 20.5 P888m 2001
  • Nursing research: a qualitative perspective. WH 20.5 N9735 2007
  • Nursing research: the application of qualitative approaches. WY 20.5 F455n 1985 ARCHIVES
  • Phenomenological research methods. BF 204.5 M68 1994
  • Preparing literature reviews: qualitative and quantitative approaches. Q 180.55 E9 P36 2003
  • Qualitative evaluation and research methods. H 62 P3218 1990
  • Qualitative health research. WY 20.5 Q12(P) 1992 ARCHIVES
  • Qualitative inquiry: the path of sciencing. WY 20.5 P266q 2001
  • Qualitative interviewing: the art of hearing data. H 62 R737 1995
  • Qualitative methods for family studies and human development. HQ 519 D35 2007
  • Qualitative nursing research: a contemporary dialogue. WY 20.5 Q14 1991 ARCHIVES
  • Qualitative research for occupational and physical therapists: a practical guide. WB 460 C295q 2008
  • Qualitative research in evidence-based rehabilitation. WB 460 Q1 2004
  • Qualitative research in nursing: advancing the humanistic imperative. WY 20.5 S915q 2007
  • Qualitative research in nursing and healthcare. WY 20.5 H745q 2010
  • Qualitative research in practice: examples for discussion and analysis. Q 179.9 M568 2002
  • Qualitative research methods for health professionals. WY 20.5 M885q 1995
  • Qualitative research methods in nursing. WY 20.5 Q15 1984 ARCHIVES
  • Qualitative research proposals and reports: a guide. WY 20.5 M966q 2000
  • Reading ethnographic research. GN 307.5 H35 1990
  • Readme first for a user's guide to qualitative methods. H 62 M6612 2007
  • Research in nursing and health: understanding and using quantitative and qualitative methods. WY 20.5 D4895 2004
  • Researching lived experience. LB 1028 M2685 1990
  • Speaking of ethnography. GN 345 A34 1986 ARCHIVES
  • Strategies for interpreting qualitative data. HM 131 F388 1995 ARCHIVES
  • Writing up qualitative research. T 11 W895 2001

Journals @ SMU Library

  • American ethnologist
  • Asian ethnology
  • Behavior research methods
  • Behavior research methods, instruments and computers
  • Ethnography
  • Forum qualitative social research
  • Indo-Pacific journal of phenomenology
  • International journal of qualitative methods
  • International journal of qualitative studies on health and well-being
  • Journal of contemporary ethnography
  • Journal of mixed methods research
  • Phenomenology and practice
  • Qualitative health research
  • Qualitative inquiry
  • Qualitative report
  • Qualitative research: QR
  • Qualitative research journal
  • Qualitative social work: QSW: research and practice
  • Qualitative sociology review
  • Survey research methods

Sacramento Campus Librarian

Jen Scolari
Contact:
2710 N. Gateway Oaks Drive
Suite 200
Sacramento CA 95833
916-646-2767

  Are we missing something?

Know of a great resource that isn't here?

Let us know @ Ask Us/Tell Us

Thanks!