This page lists apps and mobile resources for both Samuel Merritt University subscriptions as well as Health Science and Medical Apps we do not subscribe to.
If SMU subscribes to the database, ebook, or film platform, the resource will be found in the library's A-Z list of databases.
Look for these symbols in the boxes below that indicate whether or not we subscribe to the resource:
|
Directions Click on the links below to obtain installation information and activation codes for mobile apps that allow you to access library databases. When corresponding with database providers, always use your Samuel Merritt email address. |
The Access app is available to SMU students, staff and faculty. To activate and for continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN. Sign up for a My Access account today by logging into your AccessMedicine subscription and clicking on your institution name in the upper right hand corner. To download the app, please visit the App Store or Google Play and search for Access - by McGraw Hill
American Heart Association (AHA) eBooks
Access the AHA eBook collection on your device.
Download the AHA eBook reader app
See AHA eBooks App Instructions pdf below.
Create an EBSCO account on the SMU databases before using the app. Use your EBSCO account information to login to the app.
Apps available for:
Downloading and Reading Ebooks on the EBSCO Mobile App
Click here to access the code for the Lexicomp App. (new for 2024)
Alternately you can access the Lexicomp app code via MySMU.
You are required to use your SMU email when registering for the app. If you used a different email previously, go to Lexicomp Accounts to change your email.
Lexicomp Technical Support
Mobile-friendly interface with multiple ways to search PubMed including PICO search
and askMEDLINE. Linked to SMU Journal collection.
Apps available for:
STAT!Ref Mobile Access takes STAT!Ref healthcare e-sources on the go. With powerful interactive functionality, STAT!Ref Mobile Access allows users to search their institution’s subscriptions anytime, anywhere.
Create your STAT!Ref account before signing into the Mobile App:
1. Go to the Library's A-Z List of Databases
2. Go to S for StatRef. Open the STAT!Ref page and at the top right of the page click on MySTAT!Ref
3. Create your account in MySTAT!Ref and follow the instructions here to complete your account
App available for:
You In order to use UpToDate or get the UpToDate app, you will need to register. There are two ways to register: 1. Register from a desktop computer on the SMU campus, 2. Use remote access via MySMU. Click on MySMU and login with your SMU credentials. Go to Library and Research, find the UpToDate app.
When registering for an UpToDate account from off campus, go to MySMU. Look for the Student Lab W10 app. (see image below). Once you are logged into the Student Lab W10 app, locate the SMU Library, select Databases, select UpToDate.
Follow the instructions in the UpToDate AnyWhere PDF below or in this Video to get the UpToDate App
EBSCO Audiobooks App
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Up to date health news and information
Visually identify drugs, OTCs and supplements
Communicate quickly with patients using translated medical phrases in Spanish, Chinese, French, Arabic, Russian, Haitian, Creole, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese, and more. Show phrases with written translations, and play with audio.
When needed, call live medical interpreters for free with one button tap.
Medibabble is a free, professional-grade medical interpretation app for healthcare providers.
