Skip to main content

Physical Therapy Resources: Getting Started

This guide will help you find books, journals, articles, databases and more for your physical therapy classes and projects.

Graziano Library Hours

Remember to bring your SMU ID with you to gain entrance to the library after 5 pm Monday - Thursday and throughout the day on Saturday and Sunday.
 

Check It Out!

Goniometer Photo

Have you heard of a goniometer? It's a tool to measure joint movements and angles. The Library has two of them; each can be checked out for 2 hours at a time. Ask for the goniometer at the circulation desk.

How to use this guide

Welcome to the Physical Therapy Resources guide!

This guide can help you find resources by type (book/eBook, journal, article), find resources by topic (evidence based research, research instruments, patient care), and find resources to help you write papers, learn online, and prepare for exams.

If you'd like help finding library resources during your research, contact us. A librarian can help you via email, over the phone, using Adobe Connect, or face to face.

Where should I start my research?

Graziano Library Resources may be located through OneSearch, databases, and the library catalog. You may also access resources through the title index to print and electronic journals. Here's a short overview of what you can find through each search point.

Access point Available resources
OneSearch Searches across the library's physical and online holdings; search the majority of the library's collection all at once.
Library catalog The library's physical holdings and some online holdings; includes books, ebooks, and journals. Does not include articles.
Databases Varies by database; read the description to determine what database would work for your research topic. See the Finding Resources by Type - Articles tab for specific database recommendations for physical therapy.
Journals Search by journal title or browse journals alphabetically; online and print journals included.

 

Have a research question?

Ask a librarian. For general inquiries, please call the circulation desk at 510-869-8900.

 

Suggest a resource for this guide

Know of a great physical therapy resource that isn't here?

Let us know!  We appreciate your feedback.