Skip to main content

Mobile Databases: Databases Accessible via Mobile Devices

Your guide to mobile resources including library database and healthcare apps

Mobile Database Apps

Directions

Click or tap on the links below to obtain installation information and activation codes for mobile apps that allow you to access library databases. When corresponding with database providers, always use your Samuel Merritt email address.



To find apps for Ebscohost databases, click on database name and scroll to the footer of the database page. 
Click on the text that reads iPhone and Android apps. You will need to enter your email address to send yourself instructions for app download and authentication key.

Apps available for:

  • iPhone
  • Android

Here is a list of the databases that have apps. Click on the link below and scroll down to find the database.

EbscoHost Databases @SMU

Alt HealthWatch

CINAHL PLUS

eBook Collection

GreenFILE

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts 

PsycARTICLES

PsycINFO


Lexicomp Products (Lexi Drugs & Interact 

Click this link and follow the prompts to access the Lexicomp app for SMU:
http://www.samuelmerritt.edu/library/research/lexicomp

Quick Reference Guide

Lexicomp Technical Support

  • Live Call, Live Chat, and E-mail Support hours: Mon - Fri, 5:00 AM - 8:00 PM, Sat & Sun 5:00 AM - 2:00 PM.
  • E-mail a Question to support@lexi.com  (use your SMU email) or call (866) 397-3433, option 3.


Natural Medicines

Click on the Mobile Version page for directions on how to download Apps for:

  • iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch
  • Android

PubMed@SMU for Handhelds

Mobile-friendly interface with multiple ways to search PubMed including PICO search

and askMEDLINE. Linked to SMU Journal collection.

Apps available for iOS. Requires iOS 6.0 or later.

  • iPhone, iPad, iPod touch


The Medical Letter

  • Using a computer that is connected to the University network, go to The Medical Letter homepage, click on “Mobile Apps” in left sidebar.
  • Complete form (and remember your password!)
  • Click “Request Mobile App Login”
  • On your mobile device, Go to the app store
  • Search for ‘the medical letter‘, click install
  • To login, enter your email address and the password you just created

Apps available for:

  • Android
  • iOS  

STAT!Ref App

STAT!Ref Mobile Access takes STAT!Ref healthcare e-sources on the go. With powerful interactive functionality, STAT!Ref Mobile Access allows users to search their institution’s subscriptions anytime, anywhere. STAT!Ref is available through mobile applications that are supported by most popular devices or through web enabled mobile access technology (STAT!Ref Mobile).

For access to the SMU resources, be sure to create your account while logged into STAT!Ref via the Library homepage using Total Access.

App available for:

  • Android
  • iPhone, iPad

UpToDate App

You need to be logged into Total Access to register for UpToDate.
Please follow the instructions in the PDF below.

Mobile-Friendly Database Sites

Directions

Click or tap on the links below to go to mobile-friendly database sites that can be easily browsed on your device -- no app required! For best results, use the WiFi option on your device to connect to the internet. If you are off campus, you will need to enter your user name and password when prompted. Some sites require users to create an account or enter an access code. Special instructions are listed below.



To find the Mobile Site for Ebscohost databases, click on database name and scroll to the footer of the database page. 
Click on the text that reads Mobile Site. 

Here is a list of the databases with Mobile Sites. Click on the link below and scroll down to find the database.

EbscoHost Databases @SMU

Alt HealthWatch

CINAHL PLUS

eBook Collection

PsycARTICLES

PsycINFO


LactMed


National Guidelines Clearinghouse 


PubMed@SMU for Handhelds 

Mobile-friendly interface with multiple ways to search PubMed including PICO search and askMEDLINE.  Linked to SMU journal collection.


PubMed Mobile 


PubReader

PubReader offers a reader-friendly format for articles in the PMC archive. It can be used with multiple web browsers, on any type of mobile device, tablet or computer.


Refworks RefMobile 

You must have a RefWorks user account to access RefMobile. Don't have one? Click here to create a new account. You will receive an email with your user name, password, and group code.